12:10 PM

Suzuka 8 Hours gives Dunlop-shod GMT94 Yamaha chance to retain FIM Endurance World Championship title

  • GMT94 Yamaha bidding for third title
  • 23 teams have chosen Dunlop tyres
  • Dunlop aiming for 11th title in 14 years

The 2017/18 FIM Endurance World Championship (EWC) has been particularly closely fought – not just between the teams but between tyre manufacturers. The championship provides one of the most open arenas for a tyre war, with the 64 teams competing in the Suzuka 8 Hours having the choice of four tyre providers.

For the EWC season finale in Japan 23 teams have chosen to race on Dunlop tyres. Dunlop will again bring bespoke tyres for the event to suit the unique race and track conditions. The Suzuka 8 Hours brings the season to a close, with two title contenders. Dunlop-shod GMT94 Yamaha is defending the title but has a ten point deficit at an event where local bespoke machines have a big advantage making podium finishes and big points hauls a challenge.

GMT94 Yamaha currently has 136 points, ten points behind F.C.C Honda France. Dunlop’s second highest points scorer is Honda Endurance Racing, currently third in the standings while Suzuki Endurance Racing Team lies 7th. A title win would give GMT94 Yamaha their third championship win (second consecutive) and would bring the Dunlop tally to eleven out of the last 14 championship titles. To mark the event GMT94’s iconic blue livery will be changed to red and white.

What to watch for

  • GMT94 Yamaha need to score 11 points more than bike #5 to win the title
  • 30 points for a win with a sliding scale down to 1 point for 20th (11 points for finishing 10th)
  • Strong local Dunlop teams looking for victory include Team Kagayama – previous podium winners at Suzuka

Dunlop Independents’ Trophy

€20,000 euros is available in the Dunlop Independent Trophy prize fund for the Suzuka race.  This season has seen €97,900 awarded so far to 47 recipients. The top prize has only been won by the same team more than once with Moto Ain winning at the 24H Moto at Le Mans and at Oschersleben.

The Suzuka 8 Hours begins on 29th July at 11.30am local time (4.30am CEST/3.30am BST)

Suzuka provisional entry list including tyre choice.