18:03 PM

Dunlop’s winning road racing season to conclude with Macau Grand Prix

The Macau special administrative region of China is famous for its casinos. But it also renowned for high-speed action, with one of the most testing road circuits in the world hosting the Macau Grand Prix.
The Grand Prix may not be part of a championship, but many riders put the race on their ‘must-do’ list as it presents a challenge they don’t get anywhere else in the world. The 6.1km street circuit combines a flat out run beginning along the seafront, but concludes with a tortuous climb through Macau’s streets with hairpin bends and steep descents towards the final straight. Unlike a modern Grand Prix circuit, the barriers line the edge of the circuit leaving minimal margin for error. Precision, accuracy and bravery are key to success on the streets of the former Portuguese colony.
Riders have a choice of tyre manufacturers for this unique event, and a number of front runners have chosen Dunlop tyres.
Isle of Man Senior TT Winner Peter Hickman aims to finish a stellar season in style. He will be looking for his third Macau win and rides his familiar BMW S1000RR. His season has featured highlights such as a new outright lap record at the Isle of Man TT, his Senior TT win and victory at the Ulster Grand Prix.
Pat Walsh of Dunlop Motorsport said: “It may not be a round of a championship, but the road racing stars treat the Macau GP as a highlight of their season alongside the North West 200, Isle of Man TT and Ulster GP. It is demanding event and the nature of the circuit, with everyday street tarmac, high speed sections and acceleration zones that require optimal traction, make tyre choice critical. We are delighted that so many top riders have chosen Dunlop”
The teams will be supplied with Dunlop's KR106 Front and KR108 Rear tyres. Significantly, these are commercially available tyres meaning that trackday riders can access the same performance and technology at their local Dunlop dealer. 
Dunlop’s top riders include:
Pameo Racing BMW
Sam West
RC Express Kawasaki
Paul Jordan
Dominic Herbertson
PR Racing BMW
Dave Johnson
Smiths BMW
Peter Hickman
Penz13 BMW
Derek Sheils
MJR Racing BMW
Michael Sweeney
PCR Racing BMW
Phil Crowe
JGH Racing BMW
Rob Hodson
Davy Morgan
The race starts at 1555 local time on Saturday 17th November.