14:23 PM

Dunlop Tyres, Teams and Riders Ready For 2018 FIM Motocross World Championship Title Chase

2018’s FIM Motocross World Championship (MXGP) begins in Argentina on 3rd/4th March.

Dunlop’s 2018 World MX Fast Facts:

  • 23 Riders – 10 MXGP, 8 MX2 & 3 WMX
  • 6 Manufacturers: Kawasaki, Yamaha, Husqvana, KTM, Suzuki & Honda
  • 19 events from 4th March to 30th September
  • 7 soft and  sand events for new MX12
  • MX3S continues as prime front and soft/medium/hard option
  • MX52 secondary option for ultra-hard conditions at 3 events


Clement Desalle (BEL) remains with the Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team (KRT) for 2018, this year partnered by Julien Lieber (SUI). Lieber has Dunlop experience having taken wins and podium finishes in MX2. Wilvo Yamaha’s Shaun Simpson (GBR), a GP winner on Dunlop in past years, is joined by Jeremy Seewer (SUI). Jordi Tixier (FRA) remains on Dunlops for grip, having switched to the BOS GP team with Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS) returning to Dunlop as his teammate. Tanel Leok (EST), Graeme Irwin (IRL) and Tommy Searle (GBR) complete the ten Dunlop MXGP riders.
Of the eight MX2 riders on Dunlop tyres, just Jago Geerts (BEL) and Conrad Mewse (GBR) are new to the tyre/category. Vsevolod Brylyakov (RUS), Darian Sanayei (USA), Iker Larranaga Olano (ESP), Brent Van doninck (BEL), Michele Cervellin (ITA) and Ben Watson (GBR) all continue in their pursuit for yellow caps on the podium.
After regaining the WMX title last season, Kiara Fontanesi (ITA) is looking for a tremendous sixth WMX title. The Italian is a big advocate of the Dunlop Geomax MX3S which has gripped her to four World Championship titles so far. Courtney Duncan from New Zealand and the Belgian Amandine Verstappen are both moving to Dunlop tyres for the 2018 season.

The full Dunlop list of riders can be found here: Dunlop Rider List.

Dunlop’s World Championship campaigns continue to be overseen by Eddy Seel, former Supermoto champion, managing the tyre operation and advising teams and riders on tyre choice.


The core range of tyres will be based on the following three specifications:

Geomax MX12 – the newest tyre to the range was launched at the end of 2017 and is prime choice for the rear for seven of the 19 events.  The MX11 predecessor sand tyre brought MXGP and MXoN wins but the MX12 is promising increased performance with three new design features:

  • Optimised tyre profile and pattern: the introduction of new ‘V-Block’ technology brings better traction upon exiting corners and an increased contact patch, helping braking stability.
  • New tread pattern for tough mud and sand conditions with enhanced traction and slide control. The rear tyre features ‘Progressive Cornering Block Technology’, which provides stable cornering due to enhanced side grip and slide control.
  • Redesigned tyre casing gives improved traction and shock absorbability. Dunlop’s ‘Carcass Tension Control System’ creates a greater footprint which, combined with an evolution of the MX11’s proven macromolecular polymer provides increased durability.

Geomax MX3S – will be used at the majority of rounds and is renowned for its versatility covering soft-to-intermediate terrain.
Geomax MX52 – excels in harder terrain conditions


The first round at the Neuquen track in Argentinian Patagonia is a soft track for which Eddy Seel recommends the MX3S for the front and MX12 for the rear.

The full season listing of tracks and recommended tyre choices for 2018 are here: Dunlop Tyre Recommendations

How and When:

The MXGP of Patagonia Argentina takes place on Sunday 4th March with racing beginning at 16.00 hrs CET.

For the full calendar and details on buying tickets go to www.mxgp.com.

For TV broadcasting by country click here

For online viewing go to http://www.mxgp-tv.com.